passing by…

I failed to mention the Great Backyard Birdcount that occurred the other week.  I counted 4 times over 2 days, 15-20 minutes each time.   We didn’t see any exotic species, just the usual cardinals, wrens, sparrows, finches, and doves.  My highest count was 36, mostly finches and spatsies;  at one time I counted 9 cardinals..!  The squirrels have been raiding the sunflower feeders, so we had to move them farther from the trellis jumping-off spots, making it much more difficult to get pictures.  The finch feeders are constantly full, but they seem to notice me when I come within 2 feet of the window.  I did manage to snap these:

001

 

003

 

 

008

 

 

Since the Big Count, we’ve seen even more birds as they stop by on their way to their summer nesting grounds, making me glad that we’re not counting!!    It’s a sure sign that Spring is near.

Leave a Reply

