first freeze

It’s predicted that tomorrow morning we’ll wake up to temperatures hovering around 30 degrees Fahrenheit…  We set the time back Sunday morning, effectively cutting out the after-work daylight for most of us…  It’s in the air, in the sky, in our bones…the slow slide into winter, working up to the Solstice, the day when the sun begins to return.

I brought in the last, honest-to-goodness final, cuttings of basil and made some basil butter—just chop the basil and whip it into softened butter.  The sage was trimmed up and made into smudge sticks, handy for warding off demonic spirits…DSC_0006

 

But we’re still growing here…fires are keeping us warm inside and I’ve started seriously planning for next year.

….

I wrote the above on Thursday…  As we’ve continued to put away the garden, I’m less and less inclined to blog.  Oh, I could dazzle you with my fascinating take on houseplants, and I may visit and photograph some Botanical Gardens this winter, but mostly I’ll be keeping you informed with The News from Sonnystone Acres.   The holidays will be upon us before we know it and this year marks Casey’s 60th birthday, so festivities will be especially festive this season.

Thanks for following me here at the gardens, and check in at http://www.sonnystoneacres.wordpress.com and say hey…

Leave a Reply

