A Sweet Award

Look what I got!!

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. So, what is a Liebster?  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Isn’t that sweet? Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.

I’m grateful that my friend & fellow-blogger at http://www.newgardenerblues.wordpress.com/ thought of me for this honor.  Her blog is full of interesting gardening info, but I’m most attracted to it because we seem to have many of the same problems  challenges, even though she’s several hundred miles away (Kansas?, I think).

These sorts of awards are a little like chain letters:  You thank and tag the blogger who nominated you, answer the questions put to you, then notify 10 new bloggers that they are thusly honored and apply new questions to them.

As honored as I am, I cannot do that.  For one thing, I don’t read 10 blogs with under-200 followers.  For two things, I don’t really “know” 10 other bloggers with any number of followers.  For three things, all the good questions seem to have been used…

So let’s just do the best we can, eh?  Here are the questions that zipcoffelt asked me to answer:

Q:    Why did you start blogging?      A:  I recently wrote a post about that over at my main blog:   How I came to be a blogger.

Q:   What keeps you motivated to blog?   A:  After all these years, I consider it an obligation of sorts.  I am always writing something in my mind, whether it’s the blog, a poem, or my novel.  I often procrastinate publishing, but I try to use a pen/pencil and paper to catch the thoughts before they are gone forever…  Then I feel guilty if I don’t eventually use the idea.

Q:  What is your favorite quote?  A:  And in the end, the Love you take is equal to the Love you make.  (The Beatles)

Q:  Biggest Life Challenge:  A:  To forgive everyone, no matter what or who.  It is the key to happiness.

Q:  What is my most celebrated success?  A:  My marriage…long-term relationships require lots of work, and it’s worth it.

Q:  What is my next big project?  A:  Our garden is going to be completely re-vamped this year.  We have been evolving, with new solutions to the deer problems, as well as the soil amendments.  This is a chance to put our best solutions to the test…

Q:  Who is my personal hero?  A:  The parents of special-needs kids.  I don’t know if I could ever be that unselfish.

Q:  What is my favorite food?  A:  Tomatoes!!!  Homegrown, fresh from the vine anything will do, though.

Q:  What are you most grateful for?  A:  My family, particularly their health and happiness.  I recently welcomed my fourth granddaughter to the world and felt that tug of happy-sadness, true, deep Joy.  I thank the Lord every day for them.

Hopefully, this is not one of those chain-letters that threatens catastrophe if you let it stop.  But just in case….  I promise I’ll share with you some interesting blogs soon.  I’m thinking we’ll make it a monthly feature, how’s that?

For now, thanks for reading, and thanks, again, to my friend at http://www.newgardenerblues.wordpress.com/.  Go over there and check out her garden.

2 thoughts on “A Sweet Award

  1. Love your approach and love your answers! I had exactly the same problem with finding eight or ten or however many little Blogs to nominate. I shared three Blogs and like you, will share others in the future as I stumble on them. So glad I ‘stumbled’ across yours!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

