Back in the garden…

We cleaned up the yard and garden on this glorious week-end, uncovering my faithful perennials.  The daffodils and tulips were popping up as soon as the snow melted, but it’s always a thrill to me when I see the barely-there shoots of my coneflowers, daisies, and daylilies.  It’s not much of a picture, though–mostly dirt (soil to us professionals).

I planted some short rows of kale, mesclun, spinach, and my favorite sugar pod peas:

DSC_0002

I’m planning on completely re-building the garden area.  We’ll use privacy fence along the back (to once and for all keep the deer from eating what we plant around the edge), adding 8 feet on the north side, then bring the old pickets across the east side.  I’m picturing a new gate, too.

Due to the construction, I’m minimizing the vegetable garden this year:  tomatoes and bell peppers are all I plan on putting in the ground.  We have plans to put the pool back there for the grandkids to play in during Camp Sonnystone, and we’re going to be out of town quite a bit this summer.

I brought out the over-wintered rosemary, sage, and oregano;  potted up the mint, thyme, basil, and dianthus that I bought in Nashville last week.   My cat had chewed on the pineapple sage, but I put it in a pot, hoping for the best.

There will  be a frost again, you know.  Despite today’s high temp of 78, I’ll need those storm windows for cover before we’re in the clear.  Our average last day of frost is April 15 and we have had a snow as late as April 11.

I’d be happy to be wrong about that…

garden mistakes

 

I’m leaving for NYC next Sunday morning, staying until the following Saturday.  See you after Spring Break!!!  (or read the News from Sonnystone Acres for updates on the trip)

One thought on “Back in the garden…

Leave a Reply

