Verdant

DSC_0057

2 of our 3 bluebird houses have nests, but I haven’t seen any bluebirds, and I hope the spatsies aren’t squatting there.

The pool area is ready for the pool.  When that big blue behemoth goes up, it will block the view of that garden.  Casey does love his pool, though, and I know the grandkids will be putting it to good use.  Here’s a close-to-the-last look:

My edible garden has 2 sweet cherry 100’s, 1 big beefsteak, 3 better boy tomatoes;  3 california wonder and 4 big bertha bell peppers; 2 tee-pees and 1 trellis of pole beans;  a short row of bush beans;  too many zucchini and yellow straight-neck squash;  2 or 3 sunflowers in the back.  The oregon sugar snaps, the baby kale, and mesclun are about to finish up.

For the last couple of years I have had zip squash and I have no idea why.  This year, I’ve gone overboard, figuring if I lose half I still have more than enough. Plus, I’ve been doing it “right” and giving them plenty of room, so we’ll see how it goes doing it “wrong”.  I always had tooo many zucchinis at our other house when placing them close, and if that’s my result,  I’m prepared to deal with it.   We’ll see.

We had removed an infestation of overgrown throw-aways from the east side of the house and it had become an eyesore.  I decided we should make it about the birds and bees, planting butterfly bushes, lavender, pineapple sages, and hanging birdfeeders from the existing trellis.   I’ve got some morning glory seeds in the ground that I envision climbing merrily up the back.

DSC_0030

The window on the left is where my desk-chair sits and I spend an inordinate amount of hours staring out at the birds, so now I’ll have the addition of butterflies.  The final touch was to add one of my hummingbird feeders;  it’s a little low right now, but I’ve seen a couple of hummers nip in.

view from my window

view from my window

I especially enjoy this planting part of gardening, when I wake up all my muscles and tune up all my senses.  There’s a lot of healing in just touching the earth, placing the tender plants in their spots, adding a lot of hope and water—and maybe some miracle gro, if you’re so inclined.

Keep growin’..!

Leave a Reply

