My favorite Beatle was the gardener…

George Harrison would have been 74 today…

George was always my favorite Beatle, from the minute they invaded the U.S.  I was sure that since our birthdays were close (both Pisces!  a match made in heaven!) it was a Sign that we were fated to be together, and figured since he was the youngest, I had more of a chance of getting him to fall in love with me..

He died waayy too young, 59 years old.  His death occurred a couple of weeks after 9/11 and we were a little, um, distracted, so there wasn’t a lot of tribute given to his beautiful life and art.  It wasn’t until I became a gardener that I realized he, too, was a gardener, and for all the right reasons.

I wish I could get started outside.  The snowdrops are blooming, leading the way to spring for the crocus and daffodils.  All of the perennials are greening,  with none complaining about the rain or the teasing balmy temperatures.

I’ll be out there Soon…I hope…and gardening is mostly hope…

George knew that…  I think I’ll queue up “Here Comes The Sun”, a hopeful song if I ever heard one.

 

george in the garden

“I’m really quite simple. I don’t want to be in the business full-time, because I’m a gardener. I plant flowers and watch them grow. I don’t go out to clubs and partying. I stay at home and watch the river flow.”

[George Harrison]

 

Leave a Reply

